Face recognition

Started by curtis1757, November 11, 2023, 11:05:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

curtis1757

I'm brand new to IMatch and I'm trying to get Face Recognition to work, I'm sure I'm doing something wrong, just can't figure out what.

I started with a folder with about 3,400 .jpg files.  About 3,000 of which I have used previously in Picasa so they have face meta data in XMP. IMatch shows these faces properly (about 34 unique faces).  However,  right click on a picture that has not been in Picasa and has a face that is in the People collection and I select 'Face Annotations and People->Detect faces and create annotations' and uncheck 'Ignore images with existing annotations' then click OK, it says '1 file() added to background processing queue.', OK so far so good.  I wait a bit, then check the picture and it shows the box for the Detected Face and then a '?" for the name.  It is a clear face and the person has 20 files with the face (from Picasa), No unconfirmed faces.  10 of the faces are used for training.  I deselected 5 of the 10 and repeated the process and still the face would not be recognized, only detected.  I tried the other options under Image Size in the Create Face Annotations dialog, but to no avail.  I did notice if I checked 'Ignore images with existing annotations' it skipped my selected file. So I tried on a similar picture with same face where no face had been detected yet and got same end results (although it to Detect the face with the checked 'Ignore images with existing annotations'.

In 'Preferences->Application' I have 'Automatic Face Recognition' set to Yes also.

So far I have been unable to get IMatch to recognize any previously unrecognized faces.

What am I missing???

Thanks for any help,
Curtis

Mario

Very strange.
I understand that face detection works, but the IMatch AI is unable to assign persons to these faces.
Does it fail for all persons in your database?