IMATCH tweaks

Started by rajat, March 31, 2018, 07:19:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rajat

Hi Everyone,

I am at the moment testing the IMATCH + ANYWHERE.

I have a few questions here and would like to customise the things. Let me know if it is possible here.

1.I would like if  KEYWORDS OR OTHER METADATA are not DOWNLOADED FROM THE VIEWER when downloading or saving the image. Only Image with file name.
2. AUTOMATIC EXPORT TO PPTX(One photo per slide)  from the viewer, like photo album feature in Microsoft Powerpoint.
3. How is writing Metadata to the DB different from adding Metadata to the picture? Both ways it gets embedded in the picture anyway.

Excuse me for asking very basic questions as I am new to this kind of software.

Best,

Rajat

Mario

1.  If you use the "Download Original File" function in the Viewer, this is what you get. The original file, unmodified, and with all embedded metadata. This is the required behavior.

2.  The PPTX file format is an extension to the Office XML formats used by Microsoft. The specification of the PPTX file format alone has 130 pages, not counting the hundreds of pages which explain the general structure of Office XML files.
Would it not be easier run PowerPoint on your Windows PC and drag the files from IMatch into PP, instead of trying to find a way to do all that with a web browser?

3.  When you add files to IMatch, IMatch imports metadata from the files into your database. This gives IMatch fast access to the data, allows IMatch to use the data even when your files are off-line and to perform powerful functions like data-driven categories, searching and filtering. See also the "Metadata" help topic in the IMatch help which explains all this in detail.

When you modify metadata in IMatch, IMatch saves these changes to your database. This is very fast. Updates for 1000 files are written in one second or thereabouts.