Migrating from IDimager Photo Supreme to iMatch 5

Started by n8vz, August 29, 2013, 01:08:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

n8vz

I'm in the beginning process of migrating from Photo Supreme to iMatch.  I would like to learn from the experience of others.  Let me start with a few simple questions, and then I'll get more detailed as needed down the line.  Here are my opening questions:

1.  Do I want to try to transfer hierarchical keyword information (labels) from IDI?  If so, how do I do it?
2.  How do I get existing metadata (already inside files, mainly JPEG) to show up as categories in iMatch?
3.  What's the best method for importing photos from an SD card into iMatch.  (I really liked the way IDI did it.  I have a folder structure like this:  yyyy/mm/yyyy-mm-dd  Is there a way to duplicate this type of structure with an iMatch import script or other means?

I'm an amateur, not professional, photographer, but I'm fairly computer literate.   Thanks for any help you can give me. 

ChrisMatch

Hi

I can't help you with specific questions about PhotoSupreme but let me give you some general hints...

First of all, you may find the following post regarding Categories and Metadata interesting:
Getting Started - Keywords vs. Categories for Photographers https://www.photools.com/community/index.php?topic=235.0
A Personal Perspective on Metadata Issues in Migrating to IMatch 5 https://www.photools.com/community/index.php?topic=235.0

add1:
At least one way would be to let PhotoSupreme write the hierarchical keywords into the files themself or into sidecar files -> this way iMatch can pick them up
Also have a look at the settings in 'Metadata' and 'Metadata2' of the preferences which are relevant for e.g. defining the relevant keyword separator

add2:
same as 'add1' but don't confuse categories with keywords
(see the linked topic above)

add3:
At the moment there is no 'downloader' functionality in iMatch (this is an open feature request with low priority)