@Keywords

Started by Canco, June 14, 2017, 09:31:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Canco

Hello,

I'm quite new in using iMatch so maybe this question is already asked in another topic, but I didn't found it.

Till now I always use @Keywords to tag my files. But by working in that wat there are also keywords added to my files I don't want.
A simple example : People/Household/Ann (/ = vertical line).

In my file I just want the keyword "Ann" embedded in the file, but I want the other words in my @Keywords to easily find everything back.
Same goes for Places/Europe/Portugal/Madeira/Monte/Tropical Garden where I just want "Madeira", "Monte" and "troical garden" as my keywords but I need the other words for my hierarchy.

In Photo Supreme, this is easy so I suppose there must be a way in iMatch to?

Can someone help me?

Rob

Mario

The best way to add keywords to files is the Keyword Panel. It has many time-saver features including direct access to your Thesaurus.

The thesaurus is the feature in IMatch which allows you to control which levels of your hierarchical keywords you want to put into your files.
If you declare People and Household as group levels, only "ann" will be written to the hierarchical keywords and the flat keywords in your images.

See the corresponding help for the Keyword Panel and the Thesaurus, which explain this in detail, with examples and recommendations when to use what.

Hierarchical keyword like WHO|people|family|ann must be written (synchronized) into the 'flat' keywords maintained by XMP and IPTC. But how?
Only the leaf-level (ann)? All levels? Each level as an individual keyword?
How should a 3rd party software or service later know that the keyword "ann" in IPTC/XMP is actually the hierarchical keyword WHO|people|family|ann? Where is the relation?

Some users prefer to write only the leaf-level, others want to write the full path (usually better because it makes your keywords independent from whatever application you use).