iMatch Anywhere for idiots

Started by pmcabinet, May 10, 2024, 09:44:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pmcabinet

I am an amateur photographer and dendrologist; I use iMatch for all my cataloguing and referencing, but would like to be able to view my catalogue on my laptop in my workshop. I do not have a server network, just a Windows PC and a normal (domestic) router. An ethernet cable connects my office router to my workshop access point (in a separate building).

Is IMA for me, or just 'professionals' with greater technical knowledge?

(Full disclosure: I tried setting up a trial of IMA about a year ago. I could never get it to work.)

Or maybe there is a simpler way?

Mario

IMA is designed to be used in "internal" networks like your Wi-Fi at home or in a corporate network.
It's setup in minutes, requires minimal maintenance and is cheap.

To access IMA from outside your local network (aka the Internet) would require you to open a port on your firewall and to allow traffic through this port. And this would be a VERY BAD idea. Opening a port from a secure (local/corporate) network to the bad internet is how hackers get in, abuse your computers as mail SPAM relays, encrypt all your data and demand ransom.

In a corporate scenario experienced Admins would setup a "reverse proxy" that filters incoming traffic before it is routed to IMA. This ensures safety, especially when used in conjunction with a VPN.

For a normal person like us, hosting images on dedicated photo web sites where their staff has to take care for security is better.
Or you setup an account with one of the big DAM cloud vendors like CANTO,Widen, AssetBank, Bynder and whatnot and pay a subscription for hosting your photos in their cloud. Again, security is then their problem, not yours.