Can you recommend a work-flow to split a database into two?

Started by Tallpics, March 20, 2015, 08:44:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tallpics

I currently have a database made up of approx 330,000 files with 5,000 categories in 200 folders.

Everything is running very well when you consider how much work IMatch has to do to keep all the information and displays running in the background. Well done Mario.

However I noticed a thread the other day from a guy who was working with over 500,000 pics ( https://www.photools.com/community/index.php?topic=4283.msg28762#msg28762 ) and Mario made a justified comment that IMatch wasn't really designed for such a large collection of pics. That number of pics doesn't fall into the 'normal' user category.

This got me wondering about my future with IMatch. I am a Pro photographer and, due to the amount of pics I shoot each year, I can envisage that I will approach 500,000 pics in a couple of years time.

So that is the background. Now the question :-)

Can anyone recommend to me how I can split my existing database into two parts... so avoiding the 'over-sized' problem (for a while).

As my work covers two distinct genres of photography and I already separate my pictures into separate folders. This makes me think that it would be fairly simple to make the split into two new databases. But I have a question regarding the off-line cache.

Possible work-flow could be:

1. Duplicate and re-name my existing database.
2. Remove one half of the folders from this database.
3. Open the original database and remove the other folders.
4. I could then remove 'empty' categories from each database.

However I guess that each ' database update' would also remove the cached files from the 'one original' cache folder as each database would still be 'associated' with it.... leaving it empty!