RAW converters

Started by Ger, September 11, 2014, 12:12:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ger

Hi all,

I'm just an amateur in processing raw images. I know there are many tools on the market (Lightroom, Bibble, Capture One, Rawtherapee). What (combination of) tool(s) are IMatch users using - and, more important, why? Final output quality, speed, ease of use, the DAM included :) ...

It's not my intention to start a war about the best raw converter (that most probably doesn't exist), but to learn what people (both professionals and amateurs) find important.

Ger

Mario

My 0.02$

Just in case you are not aware:

You get large numbers of threads discussion exactly this topic (for various camera brands) at great length at sites like dpreview Nikonians, fred miranda's. etc. Have a look, just to get a better picture (pun intended).

At the end it often boils down to: "Try several RAW processors with your images and then decide".  It all depends on camera model, lenses, shooting style, motive, whether or not you have Photoshop available for proper retouching (or no need for that) etc.
-- Mario
IMatch Developer
Forum Administrator
http://www.photools.com  -  Contact & Support - Follow me on 𝕏 - Like photools.com on Facebook

Ferdinand

It's hard not to get into a war on this topic.  DPReview is full of them.  My view is "it depends", on

.  Which camera you're using (some converters are better for some cameras)
.  How many images you're processing (some have a faster workflow for bulk images and some have quite a slow workflow)
.  What sort of image you're shooting (some are better at bringing out fine detail for landscapes)
.  Whether precise colour is important (some have multiple look profiles and some others have advanced colour manipulation tools)
.  Whether you want lens distortions corrected automatically (some do and some don't and some need to be configured)
.  Whether you shoot at high ISO (some handle this better than others)