Could someone please help me with the renamer tool

Started by ILighter 5, June 29, 2014, 11:19:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ILighter 5

Hello,
I'm new to IMatch 5 and would really appreciate a little help.
Here is my situation, I'm stepping away from Lightroom where my files were unorganized on
the hard-drive but organized in the catalog and would like to organize my photos
by having IMatch create a folder structure based on some metadata from the files.
Basically create some folders based on the year, subfolders by month and then rename the
files and move them to appropriate folders. Is that possible?
Something like rename the file to 2013-06-0001.raw and place it  in :\2013\06\
Thank you for your time and I also want to say that the infinite customizations in IMatch 5 are
truly spectacular :) Great great software!

herman

Welcome to the community!

Want you want to achieve is one of the features of the Renamer.
It is not very difficult to do, but I suggest you go through the relevant section of the help system first.
Most likely all you want to know can be found there.
Enjoy!

Herman.

Mario

The Renamer allows you to move and copy files.
The target path of the move can be constructed by using variables - which allows you to use virtually all the metadata contained in your files to generate folder names.

If you want to organize your files by Year and Month, look into the variable

{File.DateTime}

which usually contains a reliable timestamp for all file formats.

Tip: Open the App Panel (View > Panels > App Panel) and there switch to the VarToy App. This little App makes it easy to play with variables and to try things out.

To produce a folder name from the year and month, use a format like:

{File.DateTime|format:YYYY\MM}

which returns 2014\06 for a file created in June 2014. Combine that with the drive and folder name under which you want to create the file, e.g:

c:\images\{File.DateTime|format:YYYY\MM}