Author Topic: Database conversion  (Read 1984 times)

densac

  • New Members
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Database conversion
« on: June 30, 2014, 10:32:28 PM »
Have installed Imatch 5 and attempting to convert 2 Imatch 3 databases but get 'failed to open target database'. Cannot see what  the problem is from the application logfile.

jch2103

  • Oldtimer
  • ****
  • Posts: 2335
Re: Database conversion
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2014, 11:20:45 PM »
Have installed Imatch 5 and attempting to convert 2 Imatch 3 databases but get 'failed to open target database'. Cannot see what  the problem is from the application logfile.

I assume you've done this (from the Help):

Quote
2. Create a new database in IMatch 5
In IMatch 5, use the Create a new Database command from the Database menu to create a new database. This database will be used as the target for the conversion process. Don't add any files to this database, it has to be empty in order to be used for the conversion.

John

Richard

  • Guest
Re: Database conversion
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2014, 11:35:44 PM »
Have installed Imatch 5 and attempting to convert 2 Imatch 3 databases but get 'failed to open target database'. Cannot see what  the problem is from the application logfile.

Did you perhaps use a password for the new database?

herman

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 553
Re: Database conversion
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2014, 12:15:57 AM »
Welcome to the community!

From this post I understood you had an error message?
Please post this error message here as well as the logs produced by the conversion utility.

[edit]
Sorry, I missed that you quoted the error message.
Anyway, please post the log file from the converter?
[/edit]
« Last Edit: July 01, 2014, 12:19:59 AM by herman »
Enjoy!

Herman.

densac

  • New Members
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Database conversion
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2014, 08:34:17 AM »
Have installed Imatch 5 and attempting to convert 2 Imatch 3 databases but get 'failed to open target database'. Cannot see what  the problem is from the application logfile.

Did you perhaps use a password for the new database?
I can't see anything in the conversion documentation about not using a password but have now created a file without such and the conversion appears to be running OK.

Mario

  • IMatch Developer
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 31554
Re: Database conversion
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2014, 09:11:22 AM »
I'm always learning from users.
I have no added an explicit warning box to the Database Converter help.