Author Topic: Keywords: Re-running the "flatten" process  (Read 1464 times)

Mario

  • IMatch Developer
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 31548
Keywords: Re-running the "flatten" process
« on: May 18, 2014, 10:08:05 PM »
I cannot find the topic where we discussed this, so:

When you change settings in the thesaurus which affect how IMatch maps hierarchical keywords to flat keywords, this has no effect on the keywords already in your files. IMatch does not start to update all keywords in your files because of a change in the thesaurus.

If you want IMatch to re-evaluate the hierarchical keywords and flatten them again using the now active thesaurus settings, you can now just click on the pen icon in the Keyword Panel (in front of the edit box where you add new keywords). IMatch then considers all keywords as "updated" and writes them back into the database. This also triggers the "flatten" process again so the flat keywords are also updated.

This did not work until build 5.0.158 because the Keyword Panel is too clever. It checks if you actually have modified or removed/added keywords. And if not, it does nothing (performance feature). Now this works as intended.

For the users who are affected by this: The work-around is to include the hierarchicalKeyword tag in one of your Metadata Panel layouts. Then click on the Pen icon for that tag to force an update of all keywords. This works with the current version.

DigPeter

  • Super Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 1281
Re: Keywords: Re-running the "flatten" process
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2014, 05:07:12 PM »
This should be useful.  Is the post you refer to "What is really in XMP-dc-subject?" at https://www.photools.com/community/index.php?topic=2334.0;topicseen
« Last Edit: May 19, 2014, 05:09:30 PM by DigPeter »

DigPeter

  • Super Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 1281
Re: Keywords: Re-running the "flatten" process
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2014, 06:11:45 PM »
Will this work when 2 or more files are selected?

Mario

  • IMatch Developer
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 31548
Re: Keywords: Re-running the "flatten" process
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2014, 06:39:46 PM »
Any number of files.
It works in your version already when you enable the Pen in front of the "Keywords" tag in the Default File Window layout.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2014, 06:41:57 PM by Mario »

DigPeter

  • Super Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 1281
Re: Keywords: Re-running the "flatten" process
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2014, 07:52:44 PM »
This did not work when I tried this at your suggestion in relation to the thread: "What is really in XMP-dc-subject?" at https://www.photools.com/community/index.php?topic=2334.0;topicseen

Erik

  • Sr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 286
Re: Keywords: Re-running the "flatten" process
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2014, 05:16:18 AM »
Any number of files.
It works in your version already when you enable the Pen in front of the "Keywords" tag in the Default File Window layout.

This has not worked for me... see my posts in the other topics.  If I click on the pen icon, the hierarchical keywords for all selected files are "merged" together such that each file has the same hierarchical keywords (and thus all images end up with changed keywords).  While I can see that as something that would be intended, it doesn't work for the situation where one wants to update the flattening structure without changing the hierarchical keywords.