Help missing for endpoint?

Started by ChrisPlak, March 12, 2021, 04:16:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ChrisPlak

Hi there.  I'm not sure if I'm just missing something obvious.

I am attempting to write an app and need a global variable.  I went to the sample "Application Variables".  Running that app says it uses the "/appvar endpoint". 

I want to find help on appvar.  I launched the "IMWS DevDocs" and it is not found in there.  I tried typing "appvar" and "/appvar".  Nothing is returned.  I then searched through these help forums and your iMatch Documentation developer site.  I can find nothing on the appvar endpoint.

Where does this info/help exist? 

(BTW, I'm brand new to this new way of writing apps.  I had used the basic interface you had up to V5.  If I'm missing something obvious here, be easy on me).

Mario

This is not an IMatch WebServices endpoint (IMWS) but an endpoint provided by IMatch. These endpoints are not available in the IMWS documentation.
See the sample app "Application Variables" for details on how to use this IMatch endpoint. If you don't see the sample apps in the App Manager, go to Edit > Preferences and enable the developer mode option. appvar is a rarely used endpoint and hence there is no pre-made method in the IMatchLib helper library for it.
-- Mario
IMatch Developer
Forum Administrator
http://www.photools.com  -  Contact & Support - Follow me on 𝕏 - Like photools.com on Facebook

ChrisPlak

Thanks.

I'm new to this world of web programming.  I have a bazillion years of professional and person C, assembly language, SQL, PL/SQL, and other languages programming.  All of this web stuff is new to me and very foreign.. Maybe the answer will eventually be obvious, but today it is not.

I'm actually surprised people wouldn't use /appvar, although I switched to using v1/data because it was documented and I liked using something stuffed hidden away from the user (me).