XMP::\dc\Subject tag not propogating

Started by jonz, July 15, 2017, 07:24:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jonz

Hi -

I'm having an odd error where when I try to write back versioning metadata the XMP::\dc\Subject tag apparently refuses to propagate. This is only the case on versions where I have a jpg as the master and TIFs as version files. I'm not sure there is actually a problem with the TIF files. It may be that IMatch is reporting that there's metadata that needs to be written back on these versions but actually everything's working - but they get hung up in the metadata queue and I don't see really how to get them out.

Thanks...

Mario

IMatch only works via hierarchical keywords. Only propagate hierarchical keywords in your rules. When the write-back occurs, IMatch copies hierarchical keywords into the flat XMP-subject and optionally IPTC legacy keywords automatically.
-- Mario
IMatch Developer
Forum Administrator
http://www.photools.com  -  Contact & Support - Follow me on 𝕏 - Like photools.com on Facebook

jonz

OK so does that mean I should disable XMP Keyword propagation in the versioning tab?

Mario

Usually you want to propagate the entire XMP block. Show us your setup.

Note: Actual write-back is required for most propagation to actually occur! So first write-back, then check.
-- Mario
IMatch Developer
Forum Administrator
http://www.photools.com  -  Contact & Support - Follow me on 𝕏 - Like photools.com on Facebook

jonz

Yes, I am writing back. These files stick in the queue as needing metadata writeback, even after multiple writebacks!

So here is my propagation config (which is top in the list) for JPG masters only: