Author Topic: EXPERIMENTAL: OpenLayers Map Panel  (Read 5190 times)

thrinn

EXPERIMENTAL: OpenLayers Map Panel
« on: August 05, 2013, 07:36:39 PM »
Hi folks,
Mario was hinting that the Google Maps panel will most likely not make it into the final version due to licensing issues. I will miss this functionality, so I decided to give it a try and play around a bit with the all-new IMatch App concept. Someone (maybe Mario himself?) mentioned OpenLayers a an OpenStreetMap bases possible replacement. As OpenLayers is an JavaScript library it should integrate nicely with the IMatch App concept.

Unfortunately, I have no experience neither in JavaScript nor in the OpenLayers API, so there was a lot of trial and error. At the moment the result is more a proof of concept than anything else. But nevertheless, it works! (For me, that is...)

How to install:
Simply extract the ZIP archive to a folder in the IMatch5 User App folder. In a standard installation (at least when using Windows 7) the base folder for User Apps is to be found under:
%PROGRAMDATA%\photools.com\IMatch5\apppanel\user
Extracting the ZIP should give you a sub folder named "OpenLayers Map Panel" containing 4 files.

If IMatch was running during the installation, you should restart IMatch or at least close all App Panels. Then, open an App Panel (View -> Panels -> App Panel 1). You should find a new entry in the drop down list at the top of the panel, called "OpenLayers Map Panel".

The Map Panel shows a marker for each selected file in the result window. If more than one file is selected, the zoom level is adjusted so that all markers fit into the App Panel window. That works most of the time, but not always. Don't know why...

The App relies on location (GPS) info being present in the image files. It uses the parseVariables method to retrieve the GPSLatitude/GPSLongitude values and passes these values on to the OpenLayers API. There is no error checking at the moment, so please use it at your own risk  ;) .