Where did "No" go?

Started by Mario, November 30, 2023, 08:15:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mario

As a developer, I have created many "Do you want to do XYZ?" messages boxes with the choices Yes or No.
And, when applicable, with the addition of a "Don't ask again" check box.

After recently installing and configuring a new phone and a new laptop, I have seen quite a number of message boxes with the choices Yes and Not Now.

Usually in relation to things like privacy settings, marketing contact permissions, tracking permissions, telemetry and other things where the software company really, really, wants you to agree to their question. Because it makes them money.

They don't give you the choice to say "No, I really don't want you to track everything that I do on my phone/PC". You can only say Yes, or they bring up the same message box over and over, with the only options being "Yes" and "Not Now".

I find this strange and quite annoying.

IMatch asks you once if you allow telemetry. If you say no, it stores the answer and never asks you again. It presents my case once, but that's it.
I think users would give me a hard time if I would change this dialog to show only "Yes" and "Not now" choices.
-- Mario
IMatch Developer
Forum Administrator
http://www.photools.com  -  Contact & Support - Follow me on 𝕏 - Like photools.com on Facebook

Jingo

Agree.. I think they are hoping at some point down the road, users either mistakenly just hit "YES/OK" or get tired of seeing these messages and just hit "YES/OK" to stop them.  Not a fan of this practice either!

Mario

It's a dark pattern for sure.
-- Mario
IMatch Developer
Forum Administrator
http://www.photools.com  -  Contact & Support - Follow me on 𝕏 - Like photools.com on Facebook