Author Topic: Duplicate metadata  (Read 206 times)

javiavid

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 140
Duplicate metadata
« on: October 13, 2021, 11:27:12 AM »
I have some images with duplicated metadata in some fields.
The metadata changes from one image to another.

Example:
Location Shown City: Community of Madrid, Community of Madrid
Location Show Sublocation: Antonio Lopez Street; Antonio Lopez Street

Is there any way to fix this?

Mario

  • IMatch Developer
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 29760
Re: Duplicate metadata
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2021, 11:32:59 AM »
If this affects only some images, update the data in the Metadata Panel.

if you identify a file with duplicate data, right-click into the MD panel and use "Find all files with this value".
Select the files in the result window and then update the tag in the MD panel. This fixes the problems in all files.

javiavid

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 140
Re: Duplicate metadata
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2021, 01:04:47 PM »
When I use "Find all files with this value" I get an error:

No Results
The query did not return any results.

I tried entire database and current scope.




Mario

  • IMatch Developer
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 29760
Re: Duplicate metadata
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2021, 01:38:30 PM »
Works here. Which IMatch version do you use?

I select a file with Location Shown: City": London and when I search the scope I get 12 images (correct) and when I search the entire database I, get several hundred matches. Most likely also correct, did not bother to check against London in the category IMatch Standard Categories > Images > Location > City.
Did you start your analysis with that category? It is the logical place to start looking for variations in country, city or location names.

1. If no result is found in your database, make sure the files have really identical values, including blanks and other non-visible data.
2. Enter the same value for City for two files.
3. Run the search for one file. The other file will be found.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2021, 01:40:40 PM by Mario »

javiavid

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 140
Re: Duplicate metadata
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2021, 02:08:58 PM »
The imatch version is 2021.10.2
If I try to search with a repeated value it doesn't work.
If I delete one of the repeated values it works correctly.

I'm going to do it from categories, thanks

Mario

  • IMatch Developer
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 29760
Re: Duplicate metadata
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2021, 02:12:56 PM »
At least the file you're started from must be found, either in the scope or in the database.
Are there any warnings in the log file? (see log file)

I have tried location, city, title, description and other tags. It always works. No related bug reports either.

javiavid

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 140
Re: Duplicate metadata
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2021, 02:43:57 PM »
I attach the log file.

Mario

  • IMatch Developer
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 29760
Re: Duplicate metadata
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2021, 03:44:30 PM »
The search for Madrid; Madrid revealed nothing.

This looks like a repeatable tag, not like a single tag with the value "Madrid; Madrid".
The MD panel concatenates repeatable tags for display purposes, but your database contains actually multiple values for this tag. Hence the search will not work, it searches on value per tag only.

How did you manage to add multiple values to this tag?


javiavid

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 140
Re: Duplicate metadata
« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2021, 04:27:25 PM »
I don't know how this happened, maybe the error happened months ago.

Mario

  • IMatch Developer
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 29760
Re: Duplicate metadata
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2021, 04:48:05 PM »
Then you need to put in some manual work, unfortunately.
Does the IMatch City category show all variants? In that case you can at least find them quickly.

javiavid

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 140
Re: Duplicate metadata
« Reply #10 on: October 14, 2021, 08:44:02 AM »
Yes, I'll do it manually with patience, no problem.
Thanks for your help