Author Topic: Recovering from accidentally overwritten DESCRIPTION field  (Read 71 times)

ubacher

  • Oldtimer
  • ****
  • Posts: 2163
Recovering from accidentally overwritten DESCRIPTION field
« on: July 26, 2020, 03:43:58 PM »
I had 60 images of flowers, for each I searched for the botanical description and entered it as DESCRIPTION.

Days later I had all the flowers in the window and I used the NOTES app to make a change to a description - unaware that I
had all files selected
: result: all descriptions became identical. How to recover - there is no UNDO option for this?

Database->Database Tools->Clear Processing queues->Clear Metadata write-back queue.
Then I did a Ctrl Shift F5 to reload Metadata. Since I had written out the metadata previous to the screw-up
I managed to recover all the descriptions.

This should also serve as a warning when using the NOTES App rather than the Metadata Panel to make such a change.
The NOTES App does show the number of files selected - one just has to pay attention to this!


Mario

  • IMatch Developer
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 26095
Re: Recovering from accidentally overwritten DESCRIPTION field
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2020, 06:30:51 PM »
The notes app was used by only 10 users over the past four months.
If you would like to see some improvements, let me know via a feature request.