photools.com Community

IMatch Discussion Boards => General Discussion and Questions => Topic started by: Ooteboe on December 15, 2016, 10:49:17 AM

Title: iMatch DB on 2 servers
Post by: Ooteboe on December 15, 2016, 10:49:17 AM
I have a server at home and a server at work. Their content is identical. The iMatch DB is constantly synchronized between the two servers.
iMatch runs on a PC at home and on a PC at work. Still I can't open the DB at work. Same content, same Drive, same path, but different server. Somehow iMatch knows that's a different server and I get off-line icons.
Is there a way to overcome this?

Thanks, Hans
Title: Re: iMatch DB on 2 servers
Post by: Mario on December 15, 2016, 11:10:27 AM
Quote
Still I can't open the DB at work.

Do you mean you cannot open the database?
Does IMatch show a message when it cannot open the database?

Note: When you move IMatch databases between computers, you need to relocate the drives. Even if the disk letter remains the same (C:) it will be a different drive. See Relocate in the IMatch help for details.
Title: Re: iMatch DB on 2 servers
Post by: Ooteboe on December 15, 2016, 05:21:42 PM
Aha, relocate, that works. Thank you. And when the path is the same, relocation goes very fast. Still I'll have to relocate every day two times: first at work, than at home.

Isn't it possible to give a DB two disk-ID's?

Thanks, Hans
Title: Re: iMatch DB on 2 servers
Post by: Mario on December 15, 2016, 06:12:18 PM
Use the Portability Options under Edit > Preferences > Database.

There you can configure the relocation once per computer, and IMatch will it do automatically from then on.